One on The Way In, One On The Way Out & One On The Side (2)

In Up She Rises, Rachel has this to say about her best friend Sheila:

“Sheila has been leaving behind a trail of broken hearts since seventh grade. She always has several men on rotation. It’s her rule of three: one on the way in, one on the way out and one on the side. I have the same rule. For books.”  

Here’s my latest book rotation:

One on the Way In: My Kindle is bursting with books. I much prefer reading physical books, but it’s time to dip into my digital store. Choices include:

Image result for the goldfinch

The Miniaturist

I was going to ask you to vote, but having just finished a door-stopper, I’ve decided to go for the shortest of the three: The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri it is.

One on The Way Out: Fifty pages into All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr, I started to worry it would end too quickly. For a francophile like me there was much to love about the Parisian and Malouin settings. Marie-Laure was a compelling character and her various relationships (with her father, uncle, Madame and Werner) were engaging. I also loved Werner who tried to do the right thing. But I was wrong in thinking the book would end too quickly. For all I enjoyed it, it didn’t need to be 544 pages long.

Image result for all the light we cannot see

One on the Side: Commonwealth by Ann Patchett. I adore Patchett’s writing. This would be the one on the way in, but I don’t have it. I’ve placed a reservation at the library but so have a few other like minded people. I’m sure it will be worth the wait.

Image result for commonwealth by ann patchett cover

 

What are you reading?

13 thoughts on “One on The Way In, One On The Way Out & One On The Side (2)

  1. I’m still in an arctic phase, so I just finished “Riddle of the Ice” about a sailor who goes from Baltimore to Greenland and discusses the role of ice in the global climate system in a really engaging way. Then it’s “Give Me Back my Father’s Body” about a boy who is the sole survivor of a group of Inuits that Robert Peary took to NY to display at the American Natural History Museum. Also “Lab Girl.”

    Like

  2. Holy coincidence I’m reading Give Me My Father’s Body for the second time having read it maybe a decade ago- it’s an unbelievable story- or heartbreakingly believable
    I agree about Arctic northern books and also I like indigenous writers like Joseph Boyden
    Thanks for the recommends

    Like

Your turn.

