My Own Private Nanowrimo

 

photo

It’s the last day of Nanowrimo and there’s no going back. Although if you look at that chart up there, it seems I am going back, having written -1 words today.( I deleted the word Nanowrimo from the top of the document.)

Yes, it’s still November, but I typed “The End” last night and that seems like a good place to stop. Plus, I’m knackered and have a month’s worth of errands to catch up on. Come January I’ll print the manuscript and start a second draft. Until then I’m going to let all those words marinate. Overall, I’m pretty pleased with myself. In one month I’ve created a viable first draft of novel number two. I expect it took me two years or more to do that with my first novel, Up She Rises. Here’s a few things my experience this month has taught me:

  1. A word counter widget that tracks your progress is beyond awesome.
  2. Write daily even if it’s only 200 words. I didn’t manage every single day but I wrote most days. It helped keep the momentum going.
  3. Grab writing moments whenever possible. I tried to carry a notebook  with me in case I had five minutes to spare. Once I wrote a scene on the notes section of my phone then emailed it to myself to cut and paste into my word document.
  4. Turn off that persistent voice in your head that says, “this is crap.” Keep writing.

So now what? Well, according to the Nanowrimo website, when you hit the target 50,000 words you upload the manuscript to the word count validator and claim your win. But I can’t. Because I didn’t.

Except, guess what? I refuse to view the 40,093 words I wrote as anything other than a victory. So, right here, right now, I’m claiming my own private Nanowrimo victory. There may even be cake later.

What are you celebrating today?

 

14 thoughts on “My Own Private Nanowrimo

  1. Indeed celebrate! Every story, novel, novella, poem, essay, non-fiction book, starts with a first draft. It is getting to a first draft to work with that can be the daunting part. As I heard someone else say, the hardest thing sometimes for a writer to do is not let life get in the way of writing, and NaNoWriMo encourages writers to commit to making meaningful room in their life for writing for a month with clearly tangible results. You did that. So once the words have marinated time for another mantra of writers: revise, revise, revise again.
    Congratulations…it is no mean feat!

    Like

  2. You have lots to celebrate. A first draft of novel number two and it seems it meant constant attention, writing at odd moments and recording ideas that came to you at those odd moments. I’m in awe of what you have achieved- well launched on novel number 2 . Annie.

    Like

Your turn.

